Here we will tell the story of the beginnings of our church and how we became what we are today.
First Baptist Church
of Douglass was first petitioned for admission to an association in 1869. Originally, however, the church was a part
of a union church where the Baptists, Methodists, and Presbyterians took turns conducting Sunday services. The building
also served as a school.
There were few records
kept until the church petitioned to be accepted into another association in 1887. In 1925, a petition was made and it
was accepted in the present day Shelby-Doches Association. It is not known how long it was a church before petitioning
to an association where annual church letters were sent and records were kept.
There were some outstanding
things that were recorded throughout the years. In 1869, the records show that there were 28 members and 18 baptisms.
In 1925 the church membership grew to 99 with a Sunday School enrollment of 100. In the 1930's, the church membership
kept growing. The church's membership had grown to 297 and 90 were enrolled in Sunday School. In the 1940's the
Sunday School had reached a peak of 164.
The church was built at its present location in the 1930's.
In the 1950's the church members donated yearlings to help build Sunday School rooms. In 1957 the old tin roof
was rebuilt and the auditorium was remodeled. In 1968 the sign in front of the church was added, which was followed
by a new addition on the west end for Church socials. The room was named the "Mrs. Kitty King Room." In the 1960's
the ceiling fans and the wooden pews were taken out to make way for new lighting, air conditioning/heating, and cushioned
pews. During this time carpet was also installed. In the mid 70's, the church built a new 4 bedroom parsonage.
In the early 90's, the church added a front vestible and two more bathrooms. The front parking lot was also paved
with asphalt. Most recently, a Family Life Center is being constructed. We plan on eventually adding more classes
and a basketball court. The Family Life Center is almost complete.
Because our church began in the late 1800's, we have gone
through several pastors. Here is a list of all the pastors of First Baptist Church of Douglass.
LIST OF PASTORS
records had burned
1967-1968, 1976 (Interim) W.H.
Collins 1968-1973 Kenneth
1992-1993 (Interim) T.D.